

SPECIAL CONGREGATIONAL MEETING

SUNDAY, JUNE 13, 2021 ZOOM MEETING

MINUTES

MEMBERS IN ATTENDANCE: Julie Abril, Kathleen Adam, Syl Allred, Dennis Aronson, Tricia Bayless, Sherrod Beall, Jim Brooke, Nancy Burpee, Jill Bystydzienski, Ken Carpenter, Lois Carpenter, Elizabeth Crawford, Barry Devine, Kathleen Devine, Nancy Fisher, Steve Foster, Marilyn Garst, Ron Garst, Carroll Groeger, Sheryl Guy, Stephen Guy, Molly Hanson, Barbara Hawn, Ilona Hruska, Julie Jordan, Teresa Jordan, Rev. Katie Kandarian-Morris, Susan Koonce, Bob Kuhnert, Marilyn Leftwich, Elizabeth Long, John Lyons, Bobbi Maiers, Jarrad Maiers, Becky Malecki, Lisa McCorry, Karen McManus, Laurie Meininger, Carolyn Miller, Tim Miller, Donna Nelson, Mary Ocken, Margaret Pacheco, Hal Pepinsky, John Redemske, Eb Redford, K Redford, Aline Schwob, John Schwob, Mary Sison, Ann Smith, Graham Smith, Don Spangler, Mark Swanson, Becca Trefry, Mike Trefry, Peter Tregillus, Marianna Valdez, Trenton Wann, Robert Winslow

MEMBERS VOTING BY PROXY: Allison Andersen, Karsten Andersen, Deb Anderson, Suzanne Arms, Jeffery DeCelles. Crystal Foster, Lisa Govreau, Steve Govreau, Judy Hayes, Mary Hockett, Jorie McCann, Dennis McClure, Jim McManus, Bonnie Miller, Tom Miller, Doug Orndorff, Shanan Orndorff, Terri Reherman, Emily Thompson, Bill Wallauer

VISITORS: Shannon Beaver, Anna Royer

CALL TO ORDER

Meeting was called to order at 2:07pm by President K Redford.

Lighting the Chalice/Reading

Rev. Katie Kandarian-Morris lit the chalice and read invocation.

ESTABLISHING A QUORUM

Appointed tellers Shannan Beaver, Sheryl Guy, and Laurie Meininger announced 52 members were present plus 11 designated proxies. Bylaws require 30% of the 170 members to establish a quorum, or 51 members. Quorum was established.

REVIEW OF AGENDA AND PROCEDURES

President K Redford reviewed the one agenda item: vote to approve a balanced budget for the FY2022.

Tellers described procedures for voting via Zoom.

President K Redford announced the assembly would follow Robert's Rules, amending motions would address only one change at a time, speakers would alternate between those in favor and against motions, and a 2-minute speaking limit would be enforced.

BUSINESS

Vote on Fiscal Year 2021-2022 Proposed Operating Budget

Finance Committee Chair Tim Miller presented the proposed budget and answered questions.

Motion:

Tim Miller moved to accept the Board recommended budget for FY2022 as proposed. Seconded. Discussion.

Motion to Amend:

Stephen Guy moved to remove FROLIC income of \$15,000 from the FY2022 Budget. Seconded. Discussion. Motion carried with 34 in favor and 20 opposed.

Motion to Amend:

Stephen Guy moved to amend the Director of Faith Formation salary by reducing it by \$15,000. Seconded. Discussion. Motion failed with 17 in favor and 44 opposed.

Motion to Amend:

Stephen Guy moved to replace FROLIC income by increasing income from Retained Earnings by \$15,000. Seconded. Discussion. Motion carried with 44 in favor and 5 opposed.

Returned to Main Motion as amended:

Approve the Board recommended FY2022 Budget with FROLIC income removed and increase income from Retained Earnings by \$15,000. Seconded. Discussion. Motion carried with 54 in favor and 6 opposed, as reported by the appointed tellers.

Concerns were raised that opposition votes may have been undercounted. Presiding officer K Redford pointed out that a few more votes, even doubling the number of opposition votes, would not be enough to change the outcome since an overwhelming majority voted in favor of the motion.

ADDITIONAL ACTION

Marilyn Garst asked to discuss an item not on the agenda. President K Redford informed the assembly the Board would take up the item in another meeting.

Motion:

Sheryl Guy moved to adjourn. Seconded. Approved by voice.

ADJOURNED at 4:30pm.

President K Redford thanked appointed tellers Shannon Beaver, Sheryl Guy, Laurie Meininger; Finance Chair Tim Miller; and Rev. Katie Kandarian-Morris.

2020-2021 Board of Trustees

President	K Redford	Treasurer	Rachel Lasiewicz
Vice President	Terri Reherman	Member At-Large	John Redemske
Secretary	Teresa Jordan	Ex OfficioRev. K	Katie Kandarian-Morris

Respectfully submitted by Teresa Jordan, Board of Trustees Secretary

Date approved by members of the congregation: